About us


     "Go into all the world and proclaim the good news to the whole creation" (Mk 16:15)

San Francisco Province is the offshoot of Seraphic Province, Palakkad, which in turn came into existence when Thrissur Province was divided into three separate units namely Thrissur, Irinjalakuda and Palakkad. When it was divided in 1979, the then Palakkad Vice Province got two mission stations in Lucknow diocese.  The missionary zeal felt by the sisters of the Province urged them to make the mission to a Region if sufficient number of sisters opted for the mission. Later in the option held in 1999 the number increased to 42. The new Region-San Francisco Region-Bareilly was officially declared by the then Superior General Rev. Mother Marianna with the help of Rev. Sr. Jeremy the then Provincial Superior of Seraphic Province, Palakkad on 17th September 2000. Rev. Sr. Tracila was appointed as the first Regional Superior.
After ten years of being a Region, Rev. Mother Sinclare, the Superior General and Rev. Sr. Chriset the Provincial Superior of Palakkad Province took the initiative to elevate it into an independent Province. So procedures were completed and Rev. Mother Sinclare, the Superior General, officially declared San Francisco Region as a Province on 17th February 2011.Sr.Mary Elesia became the first Provincial.
Thus San Francisco Province has become the 21st Province of FCC with 57 members and 11 houses spread over 5 dioceses. Bareilly diocese-4 houses, Lucknow diocese-4 houses, Delhi archdiocese-1 house, Gorakhpur-1 house and Palakkad-1 house. Let us have a glance at the various convents of FCC, Bareilly Province.

News & Events